Testosterone Tessman: Ben Shows Us His Heart-On

2

July 12, 2011 by heartonsleevereview

What’s that smell? Oh, it’s just the testosterone leaking from Ben Tessman’s pores, that’s all. Please welcome a good friend, all-around nice guy, and July’s Penis Post.

***

In my feeble attempts at neo-bloggism, I want to provide my readers with viable quality reading material.  Granted, most of the time I will focus on completely tasteless nonsense to entertain, humor, & horrify you all.  However, in this episode, you will hopefully gain a little bit of insight into one of the reasons why I am who I am up to this point in my life.

I had a discussion with the owner of the company I work for yesterday while we were doing some ‘business research’ [buzztime trivia] up at Billy Joe’s yesterday afternoon.

It is a fact that my parents got divorced when I was in 5th or 6th grade, and life as I knew it was abruptly uprooted.  When the person you look up to the most lets you down, it can damage a young boy’s confidence.  I coped with the divorce the way many young children choose to cope with it – by blocking it out.

Deep down I was crushed, but I don’t think I could have ever admitted that at the time.  I have since dealt with those fragile emotions and forgiven and moved on.  Everyone makes mistakes and when something is out of your control, I firmly believe that the only way to deal with such a scenario is to let a higher power deal with it.  I’m not speaking of ignorance or denial; I am merely stating that you truly have no right to let something like that eat at you.  Take whatever responsibility necessary to deal with the situation and use it to grow.

Yesterday I was being very open and really just letting my subconscious guide my answers to the boss’s questions.  I said the divorce was a life-changing experience for me.  I think it molded me into a completely different person today than I would have been if it didn’t happen.  I initially became less-driven to succeed in school & other activities.  It caused a gradual decline in my competitive nature (which was at an obscenely high level).  Those types of things can be positive up to a certain point, and in my case, I believe that continuing towards adulthood with those high self-expectations would have turned me into an extremely successful person.

However, some good did come out of the divorce as well.  I learned from the mistakes I observed.  I know I am a more caring, compassionate person than I otherwise would have been.  I’ve gained a great deal of respect for people who are troubled, dealing with struggles, going through tough times, etc.  I’ve learned more about what I don’t want to become, and relatively, more about who I DO want to become in regards to relationships and that ever-important self-conscience.  Making the decision to turn a disaster into a positive experience is a choice I am proud of.

And yeah, I’m a sarcastic bastard sometimes.  I can be crude and blunt in my humor.  However, I value my integrity, I value my sense of accountability.  And when it comes down to it, I don’t think anyone can disagree that I truly care about treating people with the utmost level of respect and dignity.  And I know now that those characters mean more to me than any amount of success that will come my way.  For that, I am grateful.

Everything happens for a reason.

***

Ben Tessman resides in the great state of Iowa, where he has been known to cause a commotion, a ruckus, and on one occasion, a hullaballoo. When not busy shredding the bass in his band, Empty The Chamber, or defending the Queen in chess, he deals with dumb computer questions as an IT guy. He has two kitties, a girlfriend, and enjoys long walks along the cornfields. Rumor has it, the movie “Field of Dreams” was based on Ben’s real-life experience…but instead of baseball, it was basketball. And Shoeless Joe Jackson wasn’t in it. Neither was Kevin Costner. And it was more of a basketball court than a field, because it’s dumb to play basketball in a baseball field. I digress. It is a pleasure to know Ben, as he is one of the most genuinely sincere and honest people I’ve met, and I am honored to call him a friend. If you like what you’ve read here, you can check out his site at http://bentoons.com,  and follow his goofy ass on Twitter at http://twitter.com/bentoons.

2 thoughts on “Testosterone Tessman: Ben Shows Us His Heart-On

  1. Welcome Ben! Glad to know ya and most definitely read this piece.

    Well played, E. Well played.

  2. Harley May says:

    Great piece, Ben.

    Indeed, why worry and waste energy over things you can’t change and have no control over. Make peace in your own way and move on. Don’t dwell.

    I loved this line, “you truly have no right to let something like that eat at you.”

Leave a Reply

